Need help in setting up/ transferring a new reef

koda_dad

Mr. Paranoid
Hi all,

I have purchased a new fluval 305, an e200 heater, t5 4 bank lighting, and a 33 gallon tank. (all new)

I am buying the contents of another guys existing reef.
50 lbs live rock
40 lbs of crushed coral
Spiny Urchin
Two clown fish
and a
Prizim HOB protein skimmer

I still want to get a couple powerheads. (how many should I get and what rating)

But most importantly.... how the heck should I make this transition from the other tank to mine.

I am going to try and save as much of his water as I can...but other than that....how should I do this?

I am new to reef and saltwater. So please treat me as a total newb.

Thanks

Hello and welcome!

First off, I would advise not taking the crushed coral. Instead, buy a bag of aragonite sand. You can find sand at any pet store. Crushed coral usually leads to poor water quality because the particles are so large that they trap waste and detritus. Your tank will be much happier if you use sand instead!

You should get one or two small powerheads. MaxiJets are a good brand, and are very inexpensive. Koralias are pricier, but are great powerheads as well.

I imagine it's pretty cold where you're moving the tank? :) The important thing is to keep the animals as warm as possible. Buy a styrofoam cooler and put the animals in it (with some of the tank water). Keep that in a place where they can stay warm! You can transport the rocks in 5-gallon buckets or in coolers. It's not as important that the rocks stay warm. You may have to remove the rocks first in order to catch the fish.

So you move the buckets and coolers with the animals and rocks to your tank, which you already have set up on the stand, about halfway filled with saltwater, ready to go. Add the rocks to the tank, and arrange them as best as you can. Then arrange the sand around the rocks. Put the rocks in first -- you want them resting on the glass so that they have a sturdy floor to sit on.