Need help with stocking

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by jef9891, May 1, 2013.

1. jef9891

jef9891

Well im new to salt water tanks, so bare with me. I have a 75g that is in the process of cycling. So i have been looking at fish to possibly have in the tank, as of right the plan is FOWLR tank. I'm not sure if i have to many fish or just enough or if they would all go together.
    Pygmy Yellowtail Angelfish
    Clown Goby, Citrinis
    Orange Spotted Goby
    Carberryi Anthias
    Black & White Chromis
    Blue Sapphire Damselfish
    Bicolor Blenny
    Flame Hawkfish
    Hoeven's Wrasse
    Kole Yellow Eye Tang

Pretty much 1 of everything. Thinking the hawkfish could be taken out and replaced by a clown. I'm not sure if the angel fish and tang would be OK but if i had to choose one i would go with the angel. Pretty much every fish is max size is 2 up to 4.5 expect the tang. So any help or ideas would be helpful. Thank you

jef9891, May 1, 2013
    1. Advertisements

2. jef9891

kbuser92 Breeder

Damsels are assholes, so I would avoid that. I think that list would be pushing it. Try 1 of the gobies, a small school of chromis (they do better in groups). I would also say that a 75 is on the small side for any tang, most need a 6 ft tank and the bigger ones need more space. And lastly, the anthias needs a LOT of food. 4x daily feedings is recommended, I believe. Hard to control phosphates and avoid overfeeding everything else.

That said, heres an idea:
    3x Chromis
    Clown Goby OR Cleaner Goby
    Pygmy Angel
    Hawkfish
    Wrasse
    Blenny

Gives you a start and something to consider, at least.

kbuser92, May 1, 2013
    1. Advertisements

3. jef9891

jef9891

Sounds like a good list. what if i took out the hawkfish. what you you suggest?

jef9891, May 1, 2013
  4. jef9891

Greenman

Personally I'd def. have a yellow tang and/or hippo Love the colors on those 2.

Greenman, May 1, 2013
  5. jef9891

kbuser92 Breeder