Need To Vent!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Reef Fishes' started by bobby, Jan 14, 2007.

  1. bobby

    JellyMan

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,423
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN USA
    I was just curious cause algae and plants compete for the same nutrients the plants usually win, it may have died due to the fact that there was too much algae and not enough plants Just a suggestion get some plants and try that, whats the worst that could happen you have tried everything else.
     
    JellyMan, Jan 16, 2007
    #41
    bobby likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  2. bobby

    bobby I like to do bad things.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,002
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    hehe right behind you. hehe
    What other kinda of plants are there? I was going to add more macro when I get off my lazy butt and set up my fuge.LOL I have all the stuff here to set it up, but I just have to get motivated. You think the algae prob would motivate me though wouldnt you. LOL Oh another reason it might have died is because I had it shipped in cold weather and when I got it, the heat packs were'nt hot, or I just put too much in and it crashed (I put a softball size clump in) but it did do a great job for that week it did live.
     
    bobby, Jan 16, 2007
    #42
    1. Advertisements

  3. bobby

    JellyMan

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,423
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN USA
    there are a ton of saltwater plants out there grapes, macro, callurpa, not only would your tank benefit from it but it looks good as well do you have a sump or refugium??
     
    JellyMan, Jan 16, 2007
    #43
    bobby likes this.
  4. bobby

    bobby I like to do bad things.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,002
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    hehe right behind you. hehe
    Not yet. I just wrote in the last post I have all the stuff here at home, I just have to get off my but and make it and also order some more macro. Well I put my pcs back on the tank, and they have been on for 3 1/2 hours and no sign of algae yet. Thats a first. It just might be getting used to the stronger light though.
     
    bobby, Jan 16, 2007
    #44
  5. bobby

    JellyMan

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,423
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN USA
    just remember that plants let off co2 when the lights are out so i would put plants in the sump/refugium as well and run you lights on when one set is off then you have continous oxygen.
     
    JellyMan, Jan 16, 2007
    #45
    bobby likes this.
  6. bobby

    bobby I like to do bad things.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,002
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    hehe right behind you. hehe
    Oh ya, I am going to run the lights on cycles to help maintain better ph.
     
    bobby, Jan 16, 2007
    #46
  7. bobby

    JellyMan

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,423
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN USA
    yeah that fluctuates as well when the lights are off sounds like youll have the algae squared away in no time.
     
    JellyMan, Jan 16, 2007
    #47
  8. bobby

    AndyB4784

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    lansing, mi
    try chaetomorpha sp. in the fuge. if this is what you had before and it dies it suggests that there are either not enough nutrients in the tank for the algae to survive or that is not getting enough flow. Chaeto also likes to tumble in the tank and without good water movement there will be much of the chaeto that dosn't recieve light. if water movement through your sump is not enough to tumble the chaeto go with calurpa and a 24/7 light cycle.
     
    AndyB4784, Jan 17, 2007
    #48
    bobby likes this.
  9. bobby

    d.french

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,001
    Likes Received:
    181
    Location:
    Granite city, IL.
    here is were to buy a hang on fuge i have one with chaeto, live sand, red mangroves, live rock in it cheapest price you will find compared to others only downside is it comes in pieces and you have to put it together i have a 30" on my tank cause i have no were in living room or under stand to put a sump. It will come with rubberbands to hold it together while you cement acrylic together, which it does come with cement it comes with all pieces to put together no light or pump though. i got picture of mine in my photo gallery if you would like to see iit, i got tons of pods like isopods and copepods, amphipods breading like crazy in hang on fuge and now there everywhere. But more importantly i have macro algae growiing to help lower nitrates and phosphates. Below is link to ebay store


    eBay Store - refugium: aquarium sump, wet dry filter, reef
     
    d.french, Jan 17, 2007
    #49
  10. bobby

    AndyB4784

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    lansing, mi
    hang on fuges are sweet.
     
    AndyB4784, Jan 17, 2007
    #50
  11. bobby

    d.french

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,001
    Likes Received:
    181
    Location:
    Granite city, IL.
    in first baffle is nothing but small feather dusters so thats cool cause they are good water polishers/filter feeders.
     
    d.french, Jan 17, 2007
    #51
  12. bobby

    bobby I like to do bad things.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,002
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    hehe right behind you. hehe
    Thats what I'm making, a hob out of a 5 gal acrylic tank. I dont have room under my stand and the tank is in a corner so I have plenty of room on the back.
     
    bobby, Jan 17, 2007
    #52
  13. bobby

    d.french

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,001
    Likes Received:
    181
    Location:
    Granite city, IL.
    well hopefully buy next weekend i wont be fighting phosphates just ordered a kent phos reactor and a powerhead and a 4 Liter bucket of seachem phosguard
     
    d.french, Jan 17, 2007
    #53
  14. bobby

    JellyMan

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,423
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN USA
    Dont know never tryed any of that, good luck though.
     
    JellyMan, Jan 17, 2007
    #54
  15. bobby

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    I tried Phosgard, didn't work. But then again, I think my tank is possessed.
     
    Bifferwine, Jan 18, 2007
    #55
  16. bobby

    bkv1997

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    2,202
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN USA
    What kinda skimmers are you guys running what food are you using?

    Brandon
     
    bkv1997, Jan 18, 2007
    #56
  17. bobby

    d.french

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,001
    Likes Received:
    181
    Location:
    Granite city, IL.
    remora pro/with rio 2500 uprgraded to bigger pump on mine feed flakes every three days not much not enough to hurt water, and brine/mysis shrimp. But when i started back in july with this 125 i was using faucet water with drops and for past month been using ro/di now that i bought a unit mine has been getting better just gonna use phos reactor as back up for keeping water in check, gonna use phosguard and carbon in reactor. So my phosphate problem is getting better no more red cyano problems hair algae almost down to none whatever little bit i see my tangs take care of. Out of curiousity what is a good name brand flake food.
     
    d.french, Jan 18, 2007
    #57
  18. bobby

    bobby I like to do bad things.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,002
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    hehe right behind you. hehe
    Im running a prizim deluxe, and feeding bio blend to the damsel and two clowns every 3 days, the star a piece of oyster every 3 to 5 days. I also added a watchman goby to move the sand around a little, so I will be feeding him to, and from what I read they have to be feed every day.
     
    bobby, Jan 18, 2007
    #58
  19. bobby

    d.french

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,001
    Likes Received:
    181
    Location:
    Granite city, IL.
    had to make a bigger surface skimmer box for bigger pump on rio used in tank refugium for a surface skim/bubble trap on my remora pro, and since bigger pump water quality been doing good since phosphate going down finally seeing corraline algae again
     
    d.french, Jan 18, 2007
    #59
  20. bobby

    d.french

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,001
    Likes Received:
    181
    Location:
    Granite city, IL.
    i have both remora and prizm pro deluxe i use the media basket for carbon also both put out great just got to know how to adjust prizm skimmer now i got it figured out it does just as good as remora honestly
     
    d.french, Jan 18, 2007
    #60
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.