New (1 month) 10 Gallon Wall Mount

Kellie00

Reefing newb
Hi All - I am new to the saltwater hobby and wish to receive a few suggestions regarding my new 1 month set-up. I have a 10 gallon wall mounted tank with 10lbs of live rock, 20lbs fiji live sand, 1 clown, 9 blue legged hermits and 2 bumble bee snails. My tank is has been cycled (this has been confirmed many times by our LFS). I also check my parameters daily and have had 2 people come out to test our set up and both have confirmed that water looks great and we are on the right track. I have been battling ich (temps at 82-84+ w/ich attack) with my clown for the past 1 1/2 weeks and have seen great progress. However, the ich does seem to linger.....but my clown appears and behaves healthly. He eats like crazy and is no longer hiding or lying on the sand.

I have attached photos for comments on our live rock placement. Our clown does not swim around actively and usually stays in a few spots and hovers (until feeding time). I know that clowns are unsual fish and can be quirky, but would like opinions if my live rock placement is not ideal for fish to swim around. I plan to get another clown in a week or so once the ich signs have passed.

Thoughts?

Attachments

• Clown Fish.jpg
    Clown Fish.jpg
    37.7 KB · Views: 997
  • Wall Mount Tank.jpg
    Wall Mount Tank.jpg
    26.5 KB · Views: 2,265
Welcome to the site!

For starters, read this thread on ich:

https://www.livingreefs.com/oh-no-have-ich-do-do-t30950.html

Pretty much, your tank will now always have ich, but have no fear--most of us don't qt our fish and probably have ich in our tanks. As long as your fish is eating, he stands a good chance of fighting it off (but he will forever have it in him; just dormant).

If (knock on wood) your fish doesn't make it, you can leave your tank fallow (fishless) for a few months, then qt and treat all future fish for ich. But again, most of us don't qt.

Welcome to the site!

For starters, read this thread on ich: