New (1 month) 10 Gallon Wall Mount

Kellie00

Reefing newb
Hi All - I am new to the saltwater hobby and wish to receive a few suggestions regarding my new 1 month set-up. I have a 10 gallon wall mounted tank with 10lbs of live rock, 20lbs fiji live sand, 1 clown, 9 blue legged hermits and 3 bumble bee snails. My tank has been cycled (this has been confirmed many times by our LFS). I also check my parameters daily and have had 2 people come out to test our set up and both have confirmed that water looks great and we are on the right track. I have been battling ich (temps at 82-84+ w/ich attack) with my clown for the past 1 1/2 weeks and have seen great progress. However, the ich does seem to linger.....but my clown appears and behaves healthly. He eats like crazy and is no longer hiding or lying on the sand.

I have attached photos for comments on our live rock placement. Our clown does not swim around actively and usually stays in a few spots and hovers (until feeding time). I know that clowns are unsual fish and can be quirky, but would like opinions if my live rock placement is not ideal for fish to swim around. I plan to get another clown in a week or so once the ich signs have passed.

Thoughts?

Attachments

• Clown Fish.jpg
    Clown Fish.jpg
    37.7 KB · Views: 1,460
  • Wall Mount Tank.jpg
    Wall Mount Tank.jpg
    26.5 KB · Views: 1,496
First welcome to the site...second I love the tank and how you did the rock work. A couple of things...tank is running hot...I would think from being mounted higher on the wall but I could be wrong.I think you need to get some air flow on the tank...A fan hitting the water should bring the temp down. Clowns are as you said...unique. They pic a spot and thats there spot...no reason for the spot they pic. If you get a second clown make sure to get a bigger one or smaller...not same size or one will die...