New 30 gal build-looking for feedback

pjewett

Reefing newb
Hi All

I've been keeping fresh & salt tanks for years but this is my first reef. It's a 30 gallon hex with 150W of MH light (12 hours daily) w/ moonlights (the other 12 hours), an in-tank refugium, remora protein skimmer, powerheads, etc. The LR, LS & water came from a 1 year old reef that someone was breaking down. I'm looking to get any advice I can get...powerhead placement, light, refuge, inhabs...coral placement..anything. I've been running the tank for just 3 months now.

Pics at bottom of post.

I couldn't figure out how to upload pics that were small enough but still identifiable so here's the link to my page...http://aquarium-blog.com (I use this site to keep track of what I do)

Inhabitants

Ocellaris Clown
Zebra Goby
Pajama Cardinal
Peppermint Shrimp
Hermit Crabs (small)
Emerald Crabs

Zoanathids
Bubble-Tip Anemone's (2-I think mine split in 2)
Favia Coral
Various mushroom
Duncan Coral
Brain Coral
Blue Xenia?
Ricordea
Yellow-Green Polyps
Feather Duster
Branch Coral?

Refuge:
Chaeto
Live Rock
Marine Bio-sediment
Copepods

pics:
octreef14.jpg

octreef.jpg

octreef10.jpg

octreef2.jpg

octreef6.jpg

octreef7.jpg

Thanks!:mrgreen:

first off welcome to the reef. now lets get down to business, get that anemone out of there, anemones need to be put into very established tanks (over a year old) and most anemones split because they are about to die so they make a clone of themselves before that happens, so take it out and return to the fish store you bought it from. another thing is since that is a tall tank and not a long tank, i think you are about done with your fish bioload wise. also remember that most SPS (small polyp stonys) need quite mature tanks also. besides that everything looks good