New 46 gallon bow front

melmel

Reefing newb
Hello everyone!
I did it! I finally decided to get a saltwater aquarium and do the research. I have always wanted one but never had the money to start one up, but now I have one :mrgreen:. I am completely new to this hobby and I am thirsting for information. I have bought the aquarium, the salt mixture, a powerhead, a canister filter, 40 pounds of live sand, 90 pounds of live rock, a heater, a 10000k daylight and I think it is 460nm lunar lighting system, and calcium supplement. I think that is everything but I may be forgetting something. If there is something else I need then please let me know. If you need additional details about any of the things above I can definitely provide them. I am wanting to eventually have a reef aquarium and after doing my research I figured I would just do clown fish for now. I really wanted to do clown fish and yellow tang but I found out the minimum tank size for a yellow tang is 55 gallons. If you think a yellow tang will be okay in 46 gallons then please let me know because I really would love to have one. Please let me know if I have everything I need to start my aquarium. I know once I get my live rock I will have to cure them. I am still a little lost on some aspects of the curing process as well so if you could help with that I would be forever grateful. Thanks for reading! :sfish:

I'm only two months in so I know a ill but not as much as the rest. Sounds like your off to a good start, but I'm not the one to ask. This hobby is constant research and learning. Welcome to the fold and a new lifelong obsession. Lol

Thanks so much :D. i am loving it so far but my fiance' is getting impatient when I told him it might be awhile before I have any fish in it. He jokes about it now though and says that we may have something pretty to look at by next year lol.