new 75g tank cycle super fast i think?

xxjrealxx

Reefing newb
hey guys im new to reefing been reading alot on the fourms and choose to join in... now for my question i bought my tank from some guy and in the sump he left the sand and a little water as he told me it would help me cycle faster ( i bought the tank about 2 weeks ago) and filled with water this past sat 02/4/12. to my my surprise i noticed in the refg sump there was a snail living and moving around then today i noticed copepods on the glass of the tank and sump....now my question is should i assume my tank is cycled and add some damsels or clowns to check it or still wait
when i did my ammonia check it was about .23 helpp please

Last edited:
If you have ammonia, then the tank isn't fully cycled. You should be checking your levels every couple of days during the cycle. That way, you can see your ammonia go up, then down. As your ammonia is going down, you will see your nitrite go up. Then your nitrites will start to go down, and your nitrates will start shooting up. When the nitrites have dropped back to 0, do a massive (like 40-50%) water change. Check your levels a day or two later. If ammonia and nitrite are 0, and your nitrates are substantially reduced from the pre-massive-water-change level, then you are cycled. DO NOT add any critters prior to completing the cycle, no matter what your LFS says. It's cruel and will actually prolong the cycle, not speed it up.