New Corals, Acros First attempt.

Civicdemon

Go Big Or Go Home !
So I picked up a couple frags,

Got a nice size piece of rainbow birds of paradise, Also I nice size piece of blue tip acro, A couple smaller frags off red planet acro, and blue man acro, also a small piece of green slimmer. Will post up pictures tomorrow if they open up hopefully.

This is my first attempt at acros so we will see what happens.

Acros weren't as hard as everyone makes them out to be- there seems to be no such thing as too much light and flow.

Here the pics and a short Video.

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vyKXSln9waA[/ame]

Rainbow Birds of Paradise

Red Planet Acro ( My Fav of my Pick ups )

Green Slimmer ( Not really open this one was cut so might still need time )

Blue Tip Acro

Blue Man Acro

And Hee a couple growth shots of my Pink Birdsnest and RBTA

Last edited:
Very nice pieces...you are aware that the Birds of Paradise is a birdnest and not an Acropora, right?

The purples and deep or dark blues are usually somewhat of a challenge to keep colored up but as long as your water is really impeccably clean and the system very consistent those are the keys to SPS success....

Thanks guys yeah I picked everything up for 50$ So I hope it was a good price. The red planet is by far my Fav. that thing looks awesome.

Is it a good sign that the polyps are extended ???

I hope these corals make it, my tank is pretty stable and usually has only slight readings of nitrates around 3 ppm to 4ppm tops. lately I changed up my water change schedual and have ben doing about 17 gl every week. Before i was doing about 33 gl every 2 weeks.

Yes I do know the Birds of paradise is a birdsnest and not an acro. But it was one of my new pick ups. I really just hope they make it in my tank. So far I have ben keeping my digitatas and there doing pretty good. So I hope these also do good.