New Fish Only & Live Rock Setup

Discussion in 'Reef Fishes' started by daledom, Jun 11, 2007.

  1. daledom

    daledom

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Hi Guys,
    I have just set up a new 4ft x 2ft high x 1.5ft tank. The tank has cycled and the levels are all great. I have now added 3 Percula Clowns and they are going great. They are eating and seem to be happy. I now have a problem that the sand is getting algae on it, I am using a marble sand and think I have made a mistake in choosing it.

    The lighting is 6 x 54w T5's (4x10000k & 2x Actinic Blue tubes). I have them on for 12 hours a day. Is that too much ?

    Do I need a cleaning crew ?

    Is there a way to add more live rock now that I have added fish ?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated

    Cheers
    Dale
     
    daledom, Jun 11, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. daledom

    NewbReefer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    UT
    welcome to the site and addiction
    marble sand? as in the colorful glass marbles seen in many of the goldfish tanks?
     
    NewbReefer, Jun 11, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. daledom

    reeffreak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Clarksville,Tn
    Dale....Welcome to the site!
    Anymore questions feel free to ask.
     
    reeffreak, Jun 11, 2007
    #3
  4. daledom

    daledom

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Marble sand is crushed marble, very fine and white. It is sold in most aquarium shops here in Australia as an alternative, Should I try and remove it and replace it with proper sand.
     
    daledom, Jun 11, 2007
    #4
  5. daledom

    NewbReefer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    UT
    sorry man i haven't heard of marble sand.
     
    NewbReefer, Jun 11, 2007
    #5
  6. daledom

    reeffreak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Clarksville,Tn
    I would while you only have a few fish and rocks.Can you put the fish in a holding tank while you change out the sand?Changing out the sand may cause a mini-cycle.Personally in your situation,I would go with a combination of dry/live sand or all live sand(aragonite base) so I could get the fish back in the display as soon as possible.

    Maybe others can chime in on marble sand.I have never heard of it here in the U.S.
     
    reeffreak, Jun 11, 2007
    #6
  7. daledom

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Since your tank is relatively new, I'd check and see if you could take the fish back and have the store hold on to them for you if you decide to change out the sand and add more live rock. Adding more live rock (1 to 2 lbs per gallon of water is recommended, I don't know what that is in kg or liters) will likely start a new cycle and could kill your fish. Algae problems are very normal in new tanks. If your levels are good, you should definitely add a cleaning crew to start working on the algae. And 12 hours of light is not too much, but like others have said, if you are having an algae problem, cutting back will not hurt.
     
    Bifferwine, Jun 11, 2007
    #7
  8. daledom

    bobby I like to do bad things.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,002
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    hehe right behind you. hehe
    You will likly see algae on the sand in a new tank. Non arganite sand or sand with silicates can cause a algae prob but algae will also have to feed on other things like nitrate and phosphate. I wouldnt remove the sand it will clear up in time with good husbandry. Alot of people are using non reef sand now to cut costs and I have added a quartz sand to my 55 to test it so far so good and I think the tank has been set up alittle over a month now. What are your perameters? Are you using Ro water? Are you doing water changes? What are you feeding the fish? By using bad water, over feeding and not doing water changes will cause exsess nutrients which will lead to algae. My 30gal reef didnt clear up till it was 3 or 4 months old, and now it look fine.
     
    bobby, Jun 11, 2007
    #8
  9. daledom

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    Ive never heard of marble sand either.I personally wouldnt use anything but aragonite in my tank.It just looks a whole lot more natural.
     
    yote, Jun 12, 2007
    #9
  10. daledom

    RigoSharon LIVING REEFS INTERN

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,371
    Likes Received:
    285
    Location:
    mayaguez, Puerto Rico
    welcome to the site ..nothing new to add. remember to post pics!!!!
     
    RigoSharon, Jun 12, 2007
    #10
  11. daledom

    daledom

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Thanks everybody for your advice, I have since done a water change and cut done to 6 hours of light. There has been a great improvement in the tank in just 3 days.
    I have been told to only feed my fish every second day by my LFS, Is this OK ?
    I have also added 2 turbo snails, would that be enough ?

    My water parameters are
    PH 8.2
    Ammonia - 0ppm
    Nitrite - 0ppm
    Nitrate - 10ppm
    S.G. - 1.020

    Should I test for GH or KH ?
    What other test do I need to do ?

    Cheers
    Dale
     
    daledom, Jun 15, 2007
    #11
  12. daledom

    DavidA717 Soon to be Reef Expert

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    im using the carib sea live sand and i love it, ive never heard of the marble sand
     
    DavidA717, Jun 15, 2007
    #12
  13. daledom

    bobby I like to do bad things.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,002
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    hehe right behind you. hehe
    Two snail is not going to be enough of a clean up crew for a tank that size. I would add more as the algae grows and stop adding when the cleanup crew cna keep up with the ditrius and algae. Nassarius snail are great for cleaning the sand bed, and astreas snails are great for eating the algae off of the glass.
     
    bobby, Jun 15, 2007
    #13
  14. daledom

    matthew1048 Wurd to ya motha

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Memphis, TN USA
    Now I don't know I have this right or not, but here's my take on your situation. Marbles are made of glass, glass is mostly made of silica sand, your sand is made of crushed marbles, so techinically you have a sand bed of silica....which is utilized by diatoms to produce there shells. My guess is that you have golden diatoms. You can leave the sand you have in there...but you will always have silica in your system. And thusly you will probably have diatom outbreaks frequently. I would recommend that you find a temporary home for your fish and snails, remove the sand, add in some argonite based sand and some more live rock. Let the tank cycle again if necessary, and then add the fish back in. Hopes this helps...and I hope I'm half way right. Maybe some of the pros around here can correct me if I'm wrong!
     
    matthew1048, Jun 15, 2007
    #14
  15. daledom

    reeffreak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Clarksville,Tn
    On the subject of marble sand....I had a chance to look it up in the states and marble sand is sold as pool sand.Matt may well be correct that its a type of silicate sand and may lead to algae blooms.Dale I would still change it out,but the choice is really up to you...good luck.
     
    reeffreak, Jun 15, 2007
    #15
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.