New... From DC area

Bashbro

Reefing newb
Hello there...

I am fairly new to the whole aquarium thing but I am the kinda person that once i think of a project i HAVE TO FINISH. well.. I just moved into a new apt and bought a new tv and decided to build a tv stand myself to save money. Then i decided to make a custom stand that wraps around the walls of the apt. Then i decided "wow that would be awesome to have a fish tank there" and well... I went from looking at 100 dollar craigslist goldfish tanks to a full blown saltwater tank. so much for saving money and building my own tv stand right?! in any case... I love fish and underwater creatures. I am a master scuba diver and have been diving for years so this was right up my alley. Finally got the stand built, bought the tank, setup the water, added 1 clown and 2 damsels. 50 lbs of dry rock and 5 blue legged hermits. tank has been running for about 2 weeks now.

Setup:
-55 gal tank
-eshopps 75 sump with overflow
-eschopps 75 protein skimmer
- Solar Xtreme 4x54W 48" T5HO w/ 8 moonlights - freaking AWESOME!
-have a heater in the tank but so far the water is already running at the warm end of the "safe" zone in the thermometer so its not on... just giving the damsels a place to hide.

In any case... follow the link below to see pics of the tv stand and tank setup. The cabinet that i built that houses the tank has a top on it but it hinges up so i can get to the tank. Also the doors on the sides both hinge open to get to the sump and the side/rear of the tank. The tricky part was getting the water to flow from the overflow to the sump with the tank/sump being almost at the same level. Once i started the syphone the water started flowing and i havent had a problem since. Only issue is that the intake tube into the sump is sort of short and is making the top crooked. I used some duct tape to keep it straighter. I will eventually get a longer tube and some tube clamps to make it look prettier. but it works for now.