New guy Moving to Salt

Unclebuck134

Reefing newb
Have done several successfull fresh water set ups. I currently have a 36g bowfront in my office at work and a 55g at home. Both are freshwater. The 55 is fairly new with only a few fish. Basically I quickly got bored with having to fresh water set ups so i am in the process of moving my fish to my tank at work. Perfect opportunity to start up with a saltwater tank.

I have no experience with saltwater. My eyes are burning from all of the reading I have been doing regarding set up and operations. I dont want to half a** it. I am a generally inpatient person but i know patience is a vertue when it comes to saltwater. But i am basically looking for advice, help and criticism.

With all the research i have done i am still un-sure about filter set up. I have been looking at a ehopps wet/dry with an insump skimmer. Seems to be the easiest choice. I know if i ask 10 people the same question i will get 10 different answers. Manly i want to know will it work.

i will do some searching on the forum for additional info regarding set up and cycleing.

Well hello everyone and thanks in advance for your advice

Steve

Hello and welcome!

I would skip the wet/dry and just get a regular sump. Bioballs have fallen out of favor in the saltwater community in the last several years because they can lead to high nitrates if they aren't properly cleaned and maintained. It's easier to have a sump without the bioballs, and use a protein skimmer. So you are on the right track!

Feel free to start threads with any questions that you have -- it's good that you are doing research ahead of time. :)

The bacteria that live on your rock will be your primary filtration, but some other good pieces of equipment are a protein skimmer and a refugium or an algae scrubber.