New Guy New Tank

Mike brown

Reefing newb
Hey all just wanted to say hi and hope to get lots of feed back.
I am new to all of this and am running my tank now. I am on week 4 of my 4 to 6 week cycle I have nothing in my tank but the grunge, gravel 1 very small snail (I just saw it when my lights went off after the 5 hour run) and a spagetti worm under my gravel. I have looked at so many of your tanks and am kind of shocked at what I have and what you all have as for equipment. Let me know if Im ok here.

Attachments

• IMG_5465.jpg
    IMG_5465.jpg
    36.5 KB · Views: 420
  • IMG_5466.jpg
    IMG_5466.jpg
    28.4 KB · Views: 332
  • IMG_5467.jpg
    IMG_5467.jpg
    20.9 KB · Views: 357
  • IMG_5468.jpg
    IMG_5468.jpg
    36 KB · Views: 353
  • IMG_5470.jpg
    IMG_5470.jpg
    29.2 KB · Views: 391
If I were you, I would take that gravel out, which looks like crushed coral, and get some fine sand, and add alot more rock.
Maybe another powerhead, take the marineland off too, I only use that in emergency carbon needs.
Maybe look into a good skimmer too, if your budget can afford.

Lastly, welcome to the Reef!! :D

Im in Sudbury Ontario Canada so I have 1 salt water fish store. the owner that sold me the 75 Gallon tank told me I didnt need the skimmer for the first 6 months. Another power head after I add live rock. Im ok money wise to buy all that but I didnt till I need to. As for the gravel I think your right its a crushed coral I am adding a better picture of it. The marineland has no Carbon filters it it, its running empty for my cycle. So what im getting is to run any filter at all? all the pictures I see is under tank filters. I dont have that, so if I take off the filter what filters it? The live rock that your suggesting? Plz help I want to do this right.

Attachments

• IMG_5471.jpg
    IMG_5471.jpg
    65.9 KB · Views: 404
Last edited:
howdy and welcome to the site..:D