New LTA

Discussion in 'Invertebrates' started by bwilhite, Nov 25, 2013.

  1. bwilhite

    bwilhite

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    I just got a LTA a few hours ago and my Clarkii is already hosting with it. My LFS said to turn off the power heads overnight just to keep a potential disaster from happening. Is this a good idea?
     
    bwilhite, Nov 25, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. bwilhite

    rrbigdog

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Maryland
    Power heads are a nems worst nightmare. They do have a tendency to move until they find a place they like. Mine moved the first two days until it found a crevice it liked in the middle of my tank. Has it attached to something yet?
     
    rrbigdog, Nov 25, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. bwilhite

    bwilhite

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    I believe it is attached to the sand bed floor and a smallish rock. I tried to move it on the live rock but it came back down. I just didnt know if no current at all was good either.
     
    bwilhite, Nov 25, 2013
    #3
  4. bwilhite

    bwilhite

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    Did you turn off your power heads the 1st couple nights until he found a spot?
     
    bwilhite, Nov 25, 2013
    #4
  5. bwilhite

    rrbigdog

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Maryland
    I did turn off the first night then turned it back on during the day when I could monitor the tank.
     
    rrbigdog, Nov 25, 2013
    #5
  6. bwilhite

    bwilhite

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    I have a 50 watt 12K white and 445nm blue LED light strip. Do you think that is enough for a LTA?
     
    bwilhite, Nov 25, 2013
    #6
  7. bwilhite

    emmett0122

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    353
    Location:
    Liverpool, PA
    lighting should be fine and the power turned off is a must(i know this cuz my 1050 power head ate my bta) untill you are sure it is attached
     
    emmett0122, Nov 25, 2013
    #7
  8. bwilhite

    bwilhite

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    My LTA is doing great, has found a happy spot! Updated pics
     
    bwilhite, Dec 3, 2013
    #8
  9. bwilhite

    mariobrothersleeve squirrel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    580
    Put some nylons over your power heads and you'll be fine.
     
    mariobrothersleeve, Dec 4, 2013
    #9
  10. bwilhite

    reeftanker84

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    south point,ohio
    i just got an lta and its already pretty happy,i wonder though,every time i add aragamilk to my tank,and i mean only 10 drops for 150 gallons of water it deflates for several hours,didnt think it should be that bad
     
    reeftanker84, Jan 8, 2014
    #10
  11. bwilhite

    BL1 ............. Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7,933
    Likes Received:
    1,370
    Location:
    TN, USA
    I can't speak to the deflating but, I can tell you that adding it directly to your tank doesn't really do anything for your calcium levels.

    http://www.advancedaquarist.com/2002/7/chemistry
     
    BL1, Jan 9, 2014
    #11
  12. bwilhite

    reeftanker84

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    south point,ohio
    well its all i use when dosing and my cal lvls are steady and i have alot of corals,red sea test kits show it does work
     
    reeftanker84, Jan 9, 2014
    #12
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.