Debbie

Reefing newb
Hi Everyone,

I'd like peoples opinions that have established aquariums. I am a newbie to Saltwater Aquariums. I would like to know what your opinion is on aquariums. Should I get the all in one biocube? Red Sea Max? or an aquarium and add everything to it. I was told that with being new to all this an all inone would be the way to go. What I want in an aquarium is live rock (which yes I know you need) lol, corals, clownfish/possibly a tang, shrimps,crabs, anenomes. What else should I thinka bout putting in the aquarium? thank you for all your help

What kind of room do you have for a tank? Tangs are going to be out of the question unless you go at least 75g(Yellow Tang) pref 125(Most other Tangs). They like a lot of room to swim :)

Larger Tanks are easier to balance, less susceptible to change. Smaller tanks are cheaper but harder to keep good water quality.

PS. Glad you came here first! And welcome to the Reef :)

If you want the ability to keep all types of corals/anenomes and you go with an all-in-one you should keep in mind the type of lighting they have. Most (like mine) come with PC lighting, which I am now spending basically the cost of the biocube to replace. The Biocube 29 HQI and JBJ Nanocube 28 HQI are a couple that I know of that come with metal halide lighting, which would make the size of the tank the only limiting factor on what you could keep coral/anenome wise.

Hello and welcome to the site...glad to have you aboard. I'd personally put a system together vs buying an all in one system. That way you can get the equipment you need and at a lower price.

Hi Everyone,

Thank you for the welcome :) In answer to room for a tank, I have fairly a lot of space for a tank. It could go in potentially 3 rooms. Thought it would look beautiful in our sitting room until I was sititng there the other day and it was a sauna it was so warm with the sun. Not good for fish lol.
I love the looks of the corals as much as I do the fish.