New, Need info on lighting

claq50

Reefing newb
Hey,

Im new to this and im just getting started. My plans are to buy a 75-90 gallon tank in the next few months, however right now I have a 12 gallon tenecor tank that needs a light. I bought the set up used but it has no lighting. Im thinking of getting the Coralife mini aqualight with the 10K and blue atenic. Both run at 9 watts. I was wondering if this set up would work good and if it will produce to much heat. The Tank is acrylic and only has a small clear acrylic shelf to put the light up in. Thanks for any help.

Chris

Hi and welcome!

Whether that setup will work or not depends on your goals. Do you want to keep corals? If yes, then it's unlikely that light will be strong enough. If you want fish only, then it will work fine. They shouldn't produce much heat.

If you want to keep corals, you should aim for at least 4 watts per gallon. With what you are describing now, that's at 1 1/2 watts per gallon.

I would recommend buying a set of T5s if you want to keep corals. They are by far the best lighting system out there for smaller tanks like yours.

Welcome to the reef.
You'll be surprised at how much heat those mini aqualights produce.I've got one over my refugium and it keep the whole tank warm.
Other than that,follow Biffs suggestion.