new reef tank

keith mac

Reefing newb
hi im new to marines been keeping rifts for 30 months but sick of the fighting and killing so got rid of the fish and added some salt and the bacteria is ok bit of a prob with the ph and ended up with white spot but with a little help from my local shop and a dose of garlic and every think seems to be ok so far i have a copperband a regal a cleaner wrass a black and white perc a pyjama cardinalfish and an orange spot goby my question is can i put an other type of goby in my setup my tank holds 33 gals and has undergraval plus fluval 403 thanks for any help

You should be ok adding other gobies, here is what Dr. Foster & Smith say about the Orange Spotted Goby...

The Orange Spotted Goby, also known as the Spotted Prawn Goby or Orange Spotted Shrimp Goby, was first discovered in the Western Pacific in 1938. Its body is white with orange spots outlined in brown. It has the ability to form symbiotic partnerships with nearly blind alpheid shrimp. It provides a watchful eye while the shrimp digs a burrow for them to share.

It is best suited for aquariums that are 10 gallons or larger which have adequate hiding places along with ample swimming space. The aquarium should have a tight-fitting lid to prevent it from jumping out. The Orange Spotted Goby adapts well to reef aquariums, although it does pose a possible threat to small, delicate ornamental shrimp. It prefers a bed of fine sand and loose coral rubble to sift through.

It is possible for the Orange Spotted Goby to spawn successfully in an aquarium.

Its diet should consist of a variety of fresh or frozen mysid shrimp, vitamin-enriched brine shrimp, and table shrimp. It should be fed at least twice per day.

Hope that helps.