New Reefer Question

OSXFreak

Reefing newb
So I'm fairly new to reefing... I have a question about my refugium and rock.

So I have a HOB refugium that has a bunch of brown algae. I know why this started, it was due to lack of Flow, as I took it down to a trickle for some stupid reason. I also noticed my Cheato was slimy and browning and all that. So I pulled it out, and washed it with saltwater and put it back in refugium. I have approx 1.5 inches of live sand and a few fragmented rocks.

As I said it has some brown algae in it on the sides and what not. I went to the LFS last night with the intention to buy some snails. He informed me that I better make sure there is not way for the snails to get lodged in to anything. He also said that if I were to just keep the light on and the flow going, the Cheato would start to grow again and suck up the nutrients that the brown algae is using, and the stuff would die off..

First question.. Is that true. Not overly concerned about it int he refugium as I'd rather it be there then in tank.

The second question... I noticed one of my Dry Rocks which are white, has some of the brown algae on it now. I notice that on all you seasoned reefers rocks it is Live Rock, and that there is some grey, purple, brown and so on. So basically should I just ignore this brown stuff on the rocks, and just clean it off the glass if it shows up? Knowing that eventually this will season the rock and will eventually become Live?

The tank is over a month old. Has live sand and from others on this board, I was doing good. So I just want to make sure I'm not cleaning something that will prevent the process...

Thanks

Chip

So I figured pics are worth more then me telling you about the rock.

I included a few pics of my Rock, and also the sand bed which is slightly tan in spots. Almost wondering if I should buy a sand shifter to keep it turned over?

I did post a related topic earlier but that was before rock was brown.