New Saltwater Tank Build..What Do I Do?

kev651

Reefing newb
Hello everyone...I am new to the Saltwater Aquarium hobby. I have been running a 29 gallon freshwater aquarium for over a year and have never had a problem but I am now bored of it. I need something that takes time and effort. I recently got a 55 gallon tank with no accessories because I want to learn about a saltwater and I want to build it from scratch. I literally have nothing for it. What can everyone tell me that I need to run a successful saltwater tank? I want to buy something that is quality but cost effective. I would love to use live reef as well if possible. I really just need some guidance by the pros.

There is alot to saltwater. First step for you is to tell us if you want to go reef of fish only with live rock(fowlr). Next step is to insure that tank is new or not been used for fresh water. Typical fw tanks use copper to treat illness, this will kill livestock in saltwater. I would pesonally get the tank drilled(reef ready) in either way you wanna go. You should look into sump/refugium setups too, we hear typically go natural with filtration. Other than that we are glad to have you aboard.

Thanks for the reply...this is a brand new tank off the shelf...i would like to go with live coral if possible but i dont think getting the tank drilled will be an option...what is the real deal with have a sump filter and a hanging filter like I have on the freshwater?

a sump is used to house a refugium...a refugium is used for live rock and chaeto which is a microalgae that consumes nitrates (fish poop) and phosphates (algae grows with this)

a sump is also used to house your protein skimmer, heater, carbon/GFO reactor to get all the clutter out of the tank