New tank turned into a Snow Globe?

Discussion in 'Algae' started by Old_Moe, Nov 3, 2011.

  1. Old_Moe

    Old_Moe

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    NJ
    I am not sure how else to describe it, but it seems like my new tank has just turned into a snow globe... hmmm

    I am curretly cycling my tank.

    Water:
    Salinity: 1.025
    Temp: 77.2
    Ammonia: 0ppm ( high of 4ppm )
    Nitrite: 2ppm ( high of 5ppm )
    Nitrate: 10ppm ( highest reading so far, has not come down in 5 days )
    High Range Ph: 8.0

    FYI, I did lose power for 2 days and the temp in the tank dropped to 71 before it was restored. I was not running my lights until yesterday ( took delivery so I wanted to test them out )

    any idea on what this is and what caused it? everything has a coating of white on it. 2 of the pics is the coating on the rocks and the other pic is the flakes floating on the surface.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    thank you!!!!
     
    Old_Moe, Nov 3, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Old_Moe

    AdeptMrSniffles I have a Blue Thumb

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,056
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    Orlando, Fl
    How are your powerheads positioned? They could be blowing your sand around.
     
    AdeptMrSniffles, Nov 3, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Old_Moe

    Old_Moe

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    NJ
    I have double outlet loc-line return from sump ( one is bouncing off the back glass, other is more or less flowing just below the surface )

    I only have one 750 powerhead on at the moment ( that is pointed about half way up the front glass aimed accross the tank )

    It doesn't appear to be blowing the sand around.

    thanks.


    [​IMG]
     
    Old_Moe, Nov 3, 2011
    #3
  4. Old_Moe

    Old_Moe

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    NJ
    I was thinking that it might be some type of Algae, thats why i posted it hear.

    Should I try to just siphon it out when I do a water change? Still waiting on my cycle to complete before I do a water change.

    thanks.
     
    Old_Moe, Nov 3, 2011
    #4
  5. Old_Moe

    Marines_Wife

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Laguna Niguel, CA
    I have no idea, I would think sand as well but if nothing is close enough to the sand to disturb it then I would guess not......but Ill post to bump it..
     
    Marines_Wife, Nov 3, 2011
    #5
  6. Old_Moe

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,716
    Likes Received:
    2,575
    Location:
    ABQ, NM
    Just new tank dust, dont worry about it
     
    little_fish, Nov 3, 2011
    #6
  7. Old_Moe

    Marines_Wife

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Laguna Niguel, CA

    What causes it? Is it in brand new tanks only?
     
    Marines_Wife, Nov 3, 2011
    #7
  8. Old_Moe

    BL1 ............. Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7,933
    Likes Received:
    1,370
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Just use the powerheads to blow it off the rocks. For the stuff on the surface of the water, one of your flow devices are either blowing water away from your overflow or are creating a dead spot that isn't circulating the waters surface in that area.
     
    BL1, Nov 3, 2011
    #8
  9. Old_Moe

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,716
    Likes Received:
    2,575
    Location:
    ABQ, NM
    Its the small particles in the sand and rocks, which will get removed as you do water changes because it gets up into the water column with good flow. If you rinse your sand before you start the tank up or rinse off any dry rock you put into the tank, you dont tend to see this happen.
     
    little_fish, Nov 3, 2011
    #9
    Old_Moe likes this.
  10. Old_Moe

    Old_Moe

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    NJ
    Thanks to everyone!!!!

    Good News.... Back to testing water :)

    ( since this is not an Algae issue, maybe it should be moved to new to reefing )
     
    Old_Moe, Nov 3, 2011
    #10
  11. Old_Moe

    Toolman RESPECT MY AUTHORITAH

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Eatontown, NJ
    I get it every week after my water change I just put some filter floss in over night and next day crystal clear. so you live in NJ what mile post :mrgreen:
     
    Toolman, Nov 3, 2011
    #11
  12. Old_Moe

    Old_Moe

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    NJ
    Filter Floss?

    I am north of meadowlands.. up in the 160's
     
    Old_Moe, Nov 3, 2011
    #12
  13. Old_Moe

    Toolman RESPECT MY AUTHORITAH

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Eatontown, NJ

    Work off 109 live off 105
     
    Toolman, Nov 4, 2011
    #13
  14. Old_Moe

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,716
    Likes Received:
    2,575
    Location:
    ABQ, NM
    You shouldnt have that happen when you do a water change, that means you have stuff precipitating out. You should do a through check of your water chemistry.
     
    little_fish, Nov 4, 2011
    #14
  15. Old_Moe

    Toolman RESPECT MY AUTHORITAH

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Eatontown, NJ
    not as smart as I think I am re-read your info and see you have a fuge I do not so I can run Floss as a filter medium in addition to using the filter sponge I am not 100% but is there a filter sock on your set up?
     
    Toolman, Nov 4, 2011
    #15
  16. Old_Moe

    Toolman RESPECT MY AUTHORITAH

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Eatontown, NJ

    So when you stir up your sand nothing gets stirred up?
     
    Toolman, Nov 4, 2011
    #16
  17. Old_Moe

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,716
    Likes Received:
    2,575
    Location:
    ABQ, NM
    Oh, i see then. No, i dont touch my sand bed. But if you are stirring your sandbed, you should be sucking up the stuff as you do the water change and not afterwards like it sounds like you are doing.
     
    little_fish, Nov 4, 2011
    #17
  18. Old_Moe

    Old_Moe

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    NJ
    Good exchange here, thank you both!

    I do not have any filters in my sump besides the octopus skimmer. After reading the post I did put a little filter sock on the drain to hopefuly catch some of the dust.( short term will remove it soon )

    after looking at my flow a little more closely ( powerhead and return ) I did notice that it creates a crap-trap in the upper right hand side on the surface. I am playing with the heads to try and push the stuff down the drain, to the sump, where hopefully it will settle and I can eventually suck it out.

    quick question:

    since there is a chance of me disturbing the dust for a little while, does this affect Fish or inverts? ( I dont have anything in the tank yet, but hopefully soon )

    thanks again!!!
     
    Old_Moe, Nov 4, 2011
    #18
  19. Old_Moe

    Toolman RESPECT MY AUTHORITAH

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Eatontown, NJ

    I take the 5 gallons out of the main tank after scraping and such and after suction the sand with that hokey tool it's not as bad as it sounds the goby makes more of a mess then I do.
     
    Toolman, Nov 4, 2011
    #19
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.