New to everything Salt Water! haha

Cottonwood

Lets move to Basketball..
Hey everyone, I'm totally new to all this, so I've been doing some reading online for the last couple days about salt water setups but still have a lot to learn and a million questions I'm sure.

I have another forum for my truck that I get lots of great info from so I knew a great saltwater community forum would be priceless for me! You all may get sick of me here!

I have had many freshwater setups ever since I was a kid, and now am going to start my first saltwater/reef tank. I just bought a 120 gal set up from ebay and will be picking it up tomorrow morning down in Phoenix.

Here is the ebay link to what I bought, I would love any help on what I should add and how I should go about getting this tank rolling the best way possible. I'm trying to keep the spending down as much as possible, but also want quality. So hopefully you all will know the best brands/products to go with that wont break the bank. :twocents:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItemVersion&item=390179735584&view=all&tid=99634222026

I'm so excited to get this going, I've wanted a reef tank for a while now, I just don't want to mess it up! Thanks for reading my long long long post! And thanks for all the help in advance as well! :Cheers:

Hi Cottonwood! Great to have ya.
first off, definitely want to encourage you to get a good reference book. That helped me when I was starting by giving me a good background to build off of and ask questions about - believe it or not, saltwater for dummies was really great for me.

Can't see that ebay item, it's been removed.
To start, I'd make sure you're getting a decent skimmer and some good lights (t-5 or metal halide) - spending money on these up front will pay off in the long run,. A lot of people end up spending a small amount, and then realize they need something better and lose money. I know I did.