new to reefing!

Tkelley

Reefing newb
Well im new to reefing as well as aquariums in general. a few buddies tried to convince me to start with a freshwater tank but ive always dreamed of having a beautiful saltwater aquarium. however i believe these buddies might be steering me in the wrong direction. i got a decent deal on a used 55 gallon tank with various equipment but ive been selling/replacing most of it. so as of now i have...

55 gallon with stand
original canopy lights (plan on replacing with lights for corals just down the road)
my dad gave me a cheap submersible pump rated for 200GPH
200 GPH Miniature Submersible Fountain Pump
this is too small to be used as a return pump for my future sump correct? if so what could i use it for, any thoughts?

(currently being shipped)
fusion 500 (maybe 600) air pump
http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/prod_display.cfm?pcatid=19779&cmpid=PPC-G-4032
saltwater testing kit
http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/prod_display.cfm?pcatid=4452
aqueon proheater 150W (i plan on getting a 2nd 150W as well)
Aqueon Pro Heater | Aquarium Heaters at DrsFosterSmith.com

the tank came with 3 bio-wheel filters but these are unneeded correct?
from what i understand filtration in a saltwater setup consist of live rock, water movement, and water changes pretty much? is a protein skimmer a must or could it wait a month or two until my sump is setup?