New to saltwater, and in need of guidance!

sebastio12

Living Reefs Student
So I'm pretty new to saltwater aquariums and I need some advice. I bought an etablished tank, but I want to take it further. Here's what I have,

29 gallon tank with...
-Hang on Filter (Marineland Emperor 280 with a bio-wheel)
- Heater (THEO UL Heater 150W)

It has...
-about 35 pounds of live rock
-about 2 inches of sand (looks more like crushed shells)
-Two Ocellaris Clownfish
-One Peppermint shrimp, one Fire shrimp, two small hermit crabs and three turbo slugs

Is the filtration for this tank adequate, I'm going to get a protein skimmer and some better lighting, and a powerhead soon. What else do I need for a healthy tank.
I might want to make it a reeftank soon, is this a good idea?

I Also, I put in two Green Chromis a couple weeks back, but both died. They seemed sick from the start. My second peppermint shrimp also died (I bought these at the local petland, not sure if it's a good place for aquariums). But my tank seems fine, I added my second clownfish two weeks ago and it's doing great, and the water tests came back normal, any ideas? :frustrat:

I think the first thing most people here will tell you is just ditch the bio-wheel. The skimmer you're planning on getting plus the live rock should be adequate. If you plan on going reef, definitely need good lighting. Lots of people here will give you suggestions :)

I use Aragonite instead of crushed shells. The crushed shells tend to be nitrate traps.

Do you have a test kit? Preferrably a dropper test kit to test for ammonia, nitrites, & nitrates. maybe your levels are off, causing the deaths. Did you acclimate properly? My acclimation usually takes an hour or 2 --I do drip acclimation. There are articles on this site for that.

Should I ditch the whole filter then, and just run the skimmer?

And any idea how much Aragonite i'm going to need? It's a 29 gallon, 30x18 i think.