New to Saltwater

CastorTroy2150

Reefing newb
Hello all, Im new to Saltwater and need some help here. I have done more then my share of Freshwater but as we all know they are pretty different. I got a complete set up from a lady who never got around to using it. 45 Gallon Hex, stand, rock, New Sand in bag, New salt in bag, Filter and Skimmer. The filter is a Fluval 404, should work all right, and the skimmer is a Seaclone. I know that most people say the seaclones are garbage, and plan to get another.... Any suggestions? Anyway, the Filter has 4 medium trays, any hints or advice on which trays to put which medium in and what if anything to use besides the spounge, carbon and ceramic discs or Biomax as stated on the box.... Never had a tank that was anything bout bought brand new and I really am unsure even though all the equipment is not used.... The seaclone has a top compartment that i think is supposed to full with water, I have seen talk on adjusting or "tune." What exactly is ment by tune? sigh, any help would be great....unsure of cycling rules for salt if the are different.... so any basic, good advice all around would be GREAT! thanks!

Hi and welcome!

If you are planning on hanging the skimmer off the back of the tank (HOB), the two best brands are Aqua C (the Remora Pro is a good HOB skimmer) and Octopus (which has a few different HOB models). The Fluval may lead to more water quality problems than it's worth down the road. Those types of filters generally don't do well for saltwater setups.

The top compartment of the SeaClone is supposed to fill with dirty brown foam, which is the gunk that is pulled from the tank. When it fills up, you empty the cup down the sink or toilet or whatever. Problem is, the SeaClone doesn't really do a great job of filling up that cup in the first place, but it will be fine for a new tank that is your size until you can upgrade skimmers.