new to seahorse.

KarlyKorruption

Reefing newb
I have a 20-high tank and I would like to put sea horses in it. What are the recommended equipment/substrate for it? Also what exactly do I feed sea horses? I'm new to the salt water, but my boyfriend has a 37 gallon FOWLR tank.

Hi Karly!

Welcome to seahorses!

First, what kind of seahorse are you thinking of keeping? How tall is your 20-high? How old is your tank? What kind of lights do you have?

Seahorse tanks are pretty similar to a regular marine tank with a few exceptions. Your substrate will be the same, a nice aragonite sand is fine, You'll need a good bit of live rock and a good light. You'll need things for your horses to "hitch" on to like a nice macro algae or some finger leathers. Horses need good water movement but not too strong because horses are wimpy swimmers. You can't have anything that might damage or sting the horses tails. You'll need a good clean up crew that does not use crabs or anything with pincers. Also, you'll need a dedicated tank just for your horses as they don't do well with other tank inhabitants.

If you're new to horse keeping, I'll suggest the awesome FREE class offered by Pete Giwonja at Seahorse.com - Seahorse, Sea Life, Marine Life, Aquafarm Sales, Feeds and Accessories - Home here's a site that has some care sheets: Seahorse.com - Seahorse, Sea Life, Marine Life, Aquafarm Sales, Feeds and Accessories - Care Sheets and a site that has some great resources. seahorse.org - Library

Best place in the world to get your horses: Seahorse Source, the ultimate place for captive bred seahorses.

Horses need a little extra considerations but they are totally worth it!

Welcome,
Catherine

this is KarlyKorruption....lI'm thinking of getting a couple Hippocampus erectus. My tank is 16" high. I don't know how old my tank is because someone gave it to me. Currently I don't have any lights, what do you recommend? What exact filter would you use for seahorse?

Last edited: