New to Site and New To Salt Water

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by karisfish, Feb 9, 2011.

  1. karisfish

    karisfish

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Boise, Idaho
    Hello,

    I have a 28 gallon nano cube reef series tank. It has a built in wave maker and better lights for corals. I have only had it running for about 3 weeks so I don't have any fish yet. I can't wait! I started it with live sand and live rock so I would think it would be ready for a few fish soon. I have been testing the water every day and have had no spikes. I also have a 56 gallon bow front (soon to be upgrading to at least a 90 gallon) fresh water Discus x 6 tank with a school of cardinals x 20 and a few cory cats x 3. Then I have a 16 gallon bow front with just a few fresh water community fish in it.
     
    karisfish, Feb 9, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. karisfish

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Hello and welcome to the site! If you used live rock and live sand, you may not see a cycle. Try putting a small bit of food in the tank, let it rot, and see if your parameters go up. If they don't, you should be all set for your first fish. Remember, start with one or two hardy fish, and add no more than one new fish every 3 weeks or so.
     
    Bifferwine, Feb 9, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. karisfish

    Aquatic

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Arizona
    A general rule is 1 fish per 10 gallons of water so you should comfortably be able to have 3 in your tank. After it's been established, maybe 4 . You say 28g nanocube. I'm assuming you have the JBJ Nanocube? And if so, which model? CF Quad, HQI, LED, open top? Welcome to the site by the way!
     
    Aquatic, Feb 9, 2011
    #3
  4. karisfish

    karisfish

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Boise, Idaho

    It's a 28 gallon NanoCube- CF Quad Reef Series. it has a closed top.
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2011
    karisfish, Feb 9, 2011
    #4
  5. karisfish

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Hello and Welcome!

    Sounds like you are off to a great start!
     
    little_fish, Feb 9, 2011
    #5
  6. karisfish

    OhNoNemo i love triggers

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3,390
    Likes Received:
    373
    Location:
    Treasure Lake ,PA
    Welcome aboard
     
    OhNoNemo, Feb 9, 2011
    #6
  7. karisfish

    Toolman RESPECT MY AUTHORITAH

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Eatontown, NJ
    Mine just turned a year old love it 5 gallon water change every 2 weeks I got rid of the factory sponge and use filter floss with chemipure 1/2 load in center tried to convert center into a fuge no luck are you going to try a stock skimmer? The only thing I have noticed are the pumps not a big fan of the accela 1000 I keep both pumps on 24/7 along with a korella 3 best thing to do with this set up is flow I am going to switch to the maxi jet 1200 on my next big cleaning....My only downer is the stand I was going to search the DIY site and see if anybody constructed a stand for this tank and get a set of plans......
     
    Toolman, Feb 9, 2011
    #7
  8. karisfish

    Smitty

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,609
    Likes Received:
    1,587
    Location:
    Chicago/Oaklawn IL
    Hello and welcome to the site...glad to have you. :)
     
    Smitty, Feb 9, 2011
    #8
  9. karisfish

    reeffreak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Clarksville,Tn
    Welcome to the site and hobby!
     
    reeffreak, Feb 10, 2011
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.