New to the Game

Hornet

Reefing newb
Hi everybody I'm new to Saltwater aquariums. I find my freshwater tank to be to small for the room and a bit boring. I've been surfing the web and reading a lot and I'm thinking of setting up a 90 - 120 gal. reef setup. I've always wanted a saltwater but was not ready to learn the hobby.

I'm in no hurry to get set-up because I don't want to waste my money. So I'll keep reading through different stuff while i figure out a battle plan.

I've already been reading through the articles section here. Grrr, the more i read the more I realize I don't know :)

If anybody is in Virginia area and has suggestions on places to purchase aquariums and stands let me know.

Last edited:
Welcome to the site!

You are doing the best thing by researching as much as you can.Sorry,can't help on good location in Virginia to buy fish tanks.Any other specific questions-feel free to ask.

Welcome to the Reef, read a ton then read some more and ask some questions then read while they are being answered. Have fun with it all!

Hi and welcome! I lived in Falls Church, VA for 2 years, but that was before I set up my tanks... Sorry, I can't give you any help there.

But feel free to ask any questions you might have!

I think that if you start with a 90 gallon tank or larger, you will be very happy you did. That's a perfect size for a first tank! So much you can do with it and so many different things you can put in it, and the water volume is large enough to be forgiving of "newbie" mistakes and dilute out any problems.

I've been reading through the forum and I came across glasscages.com. I may go with them. But I'm going to check my LFS before I order. Hopefully I can find a good tank local so I don't have to deal with the shipping charges.

I'm also thinking about maybe building my own stand to possibly save a few bucks. Although the basic design seems simple I'm no carpenter and I want something that is going to look real nice in my dining room.