New to The Hobby and Need Help.

pegger4

Reefing newb
Hi I am a complete amateur at keeping an aquarium I have yet to purchase a tank and equipment but right now I am on the fence between having a freshwater tank and a saltwater one.

So if someone could help me out I have some question (most of which are basic and pretty dumb):

-what is a suggested tank size (i probably will only have room for one 20 - 30 gal)
-how difficult is it to maintain a tank and fish?
-what equipment do I need? (a list of starter equip. would be great)
-I am often out of town on weekends can I leave my fish and tank unattended for a couple days?
-how much is this gonna cost me? (roughly)

I really wanna get into the aqaurium hobby but I just dont know where to start so all help/advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

I say definitely go saltwater, it'll be much more rewarding in the end. As far as tank size go as big as you can afford and fit in your house. It's not difficult at all to maintain your tank as long as you do the proper research and take your time doing everything. As far as what equipment you'll need really depends all on what kind of aquarium you want to setup. Your tank would be ok for a few days without you. I've left my tank for 3 or 4 days at a time without any problems.

-what is a suggested tank size (i probably will only have room for one 20 - 30 gal)
There is no suggested tank size. In any aquarium the larger it is the easier it is to maintain chemistry but also the cost increases with size.

-how difficult is it to maintain a tank and fish?
Easy. Add in pure water every few days. feed the fish every few days, and clean everything every week and change out water. Thats basic but its also same for fresh and saltwater.

-what equipment do I need? (a list of starter equip. would be great)