New to the hobby

jenni

Reefing newb
Hello I am new to the hobby. A friend of mine recently gave me her 30 gallon saltwater tank, it has a DSB some live rock two clown fish, 4 hermit crabs, a pink leather coral, and two nassarius snails. The tank also has a metal halide lite, a filter and a protein skimmer. I have had the tank for about a month. and have finally gotten all the water levels under control except for the nitrates which are around 20. Just to clarify that the tank came with all these inhabitants the tank has been establishes for 3 years before I got it. My question is I would like to make this into a small reef tank and keep only the existing clowns as fish but I am uncertain as to what would be compatible in a small tank such as this. Also how do I get the nitrates to come down so I can add new inhabitants. The tank was sorely neglected when I got it and it has not been easy getting the nitrites under control but I finally have.

Water changes are going to be your best weapon against high nutrient levels. A good clean up crew will also help control waste and help fight the unwanted levels as well. Another route would be through the use of bio-pellets , but I still think that the water changes will be the better option.

I have been doing 20% water changes every week since I got the tank and it has helped but i was concerned about adding more critters to help with clean up for fear of killing them with high nitrates. Should I wait until the nitrates are lower or can I start adding them now There is a fair bit for them to eat as it was a well established tank.

Hello and Welcome!

I would wait until you get the nitrates down before you add more CUC or corals, but my concern is that with the DSB you might always have a nitrate problem. But you could also have some equipment that is also causing the problem.

Can you post some pictures of your tank and list all the equipment you have? Also what are you feeding, and how much are you feeding?