New to the hobby

mellowchef87

Reefing newb
Hey out there everyone. I am very new to the hobby and would welcome any help or advice thrown my way. Have always wanted a marine tank and finally decided to start a 10g practice tank about a month ago. 8lb live rock with crushed coral. Penn-Plax cascade 300 internal filter, says it cycles 70gph. LEDs that came with the tank. I got a little antsy when I set up and didnt let it cycle before I added fish. Started off with 3 yellowtail blue damsels, and a clownfish. Lost the damsels, but the clownfish is still going strong. Added a small cuc of 3 hermits, a snail, and a peppermint shrimp 2 weeks ago and all the levels are evened out now. Everything looks like it is doing well. I think I will definitely be going with live sand on the next tank. Any ideas for a small addition or two good for a beginner? I want to add maybe one or two more so I can get everything down before I start a larger tank. Also the peppermint shrimp has molted in the last 24 hours. Should I take the exoskeleton out or leave it for the cuc?

Attachments

• 20130411_203009[1].jpg
    20130411_203009[1].jpg
    147 KB · Views: 376
  • 20130411_202401[1].jpg
    20130411_202401[1].jpg
    147.7 KB · Views: 402
  • 20130411_203029[1].jpg
    20130411_203029[1].jpg
    138.7 KB · Views: 436
Hello and welcome to the boards! Very nice looking tank! As you stated using sand is the way to go b/c crushed coral is very hard to keep clean and becomes a nitrate factory. You also lose the ability to keep sandsifting fish. With a 10g I would leave the one clown for a while and see how that goes before adding another fish. If the shrimp molt is easy to remove you can remove it if not leaving it in there will be fine too.

Thanks for the advice. What about a bit more live rock? Would adding another small peice be too much or is it good to have good amount in there?