New to the saltwater game!

04redmach1

Reefing newb
Hey all, I am new to the saltwater game and just bought a 29 gallon Marineland/Eclipse ocean kit. Petco let us have it for $135, regular $229!! Wife always wanted one and so have I.

I have a few questions, we are going to do a reef. Looking at clowns, mandarins, blenny, and few other small colorful fish. My question is how hard are seahorses to keep with other fish? If not well then we may get a dwarf lion as well.

Anyone use this aquarium as well?

Seahorses with other fish? Simple answer, you can't. Oh, I've read about having one other fish being in the tank, but I think it was a burrowing type. Can't have much of a bio-load in there, ponies require almost a still tank. Others can take up the rest. Good luck, welcome to the Reef! Coffeebean

Hello and welcome to the site, glad to have you...I started off with that same exact tank, and didn't do so well with it. The lights are only good enough for soft corals, so I had to replace them. I now us the tank as my mixed reef tank, so I had to remove the top completely. You will be able to keep a few small fish, including clowns, but I wouldn't suggest a mandarin, they are kinda difficult to kept fed, especially in a small tank. This tank will be a perfect tank for seahorses if that's the direction you're going in. Good luck with whatever you decide, and don't hesitate to ask questions before purchasing something, we may save you few $. :)