New to the site and SW!

Leslee

Reef enthusiast
:sfish:Hello!:sfish:
Hi there! My name is Leslee. I am 25. I live in a suburb of Chicago, Naperville, IL. I am a graduate student and a teacher. I am getting my masters degree in special education. I love to spend my time volunteering when ever I can. I have even done the polar plunge, for Special Olympics and I will be doing it again soon!

I have *some* experience with saltwater tanks. I started a tank 2 years ago with my ex-fiance, I had it for 5 months, then moved out and he took it over. Since I had that tank with him it wasn't all mine.

Six months ago I started my own tank using a fresh water tank kit I found at the big box store. It is a 29 gal tank. I am using 3 over the back filters. 2 are for a 30 gal tank and the 3rd is for a 15 gal tank. So that is 75 gallons worth of filters on my 29 gal tank. I do not have a protein skimmer. :question:Do I need one? I do water changes every other week, and I rotate the filter changes. My water tests all come back clear and safe. I have been advised that I need one and I have also been advised that I don't. The store I trust the most says that I don't and they have not steered me wrong yet....I would just like to know your opinions! I use the strip light that came with the kit. I have a filter and the temp is usually about 80 degrees. :question:Is that too warm? My fish seem to be doing fine but I was worried about the temp. I do have one power head.