new watchman goby - hiding

janet

Reefing newb
Hello
I have my very fist marine aquarium and on Saturday I bought my first fish, a lovely watchman goby. However, I haven't seen him since. I think i know where he is, but when do you think he'll come out? I am getting a pistol shrimp to go with him tomorrow, so I hope that will coax him out.
Janet

Hello and welcome to the site, has your tank cycled yet...that's very important. If so, then he's just hiding until he feels more comfortable, if not, then he may be in there sick and/or dying. If you did not go thru a cycle' take him out and return him to the store until your tank is ready, and hold off on the shrimp for now. Give us a little more info on your tank so we can get you going in the right direction.

Yes my tank has cycled and the water is in very good condition.. I am by no means an expert yet, but I have read lots of books and articles on this site and other sites... It has been a huge learning curve, but very satisfying. I'm sure my goby is fine, I'd just like to see him. I'm sure what you say about him being shy until he is comfortable is right, I suppose I'll just have to wait.. He doesn't come out when I put food in there either, I suppose he is eating something?

I have a yellow watchman goby and he likes to hang out in a cave in my live rock. He's not as shy as he was when I first got him (about 3 months ago) but he is very cautious. He won't chase food but waits paitently for a piece to float past him. He protects his little hidey hole quite vigorously and it's funny to watch. If another tank inhabitant comes near him, his fins go up and he opens his mouth as far as he can while strutting around in front of the cave. I don't have a pistol shrimp but I do have a scarlet skunk cleaner shrimp. The shrimp cleans the goby often and they seem to get along well.