Newb In Florida

DMBIrish

Reefing newb
I was recently given a 125g that I knew nothing about. I've been running it for a few months (3 or so) with great success. Currently I have a 7" Powder Blue Grouper, 3' Brazilian Dragon Eel, Medium Yellow Tang, Large Naso Tang, Small Odonus Trigger, 20" Yellow Headed Moray, 12" Bamboo Shark, Small Red Volitan Lionfish, and a 8" Spanish Hogfish. Along with 3-4 various stars, 2 horseshoe crabs, plenty of live rock etc. Looking at the list, some would say the tank is overcrowded. But, it seems that the amount of life I have is thriving. My bamboo hasn't adjusted well, though. He eats sparringly, even with food literally under his mouth; and hides 90% of the time. I've had him for 3 weeks and he's still doing his thing, but just doesn't seem to want to come out of hiding. Also, I've noticed my lighting is a bit on the "Yellow" side... what can I do to fix that?

Josh

Hello and welcome!

You need to post some pics of your tank for us to check out.

Different bulbs have different colors to them, depending on their Kelvin (K) rating. The lower the K rating, the yellower they will be. What kind of lights do you have? Try switching out your current bulbs for 14K or 20K bulbs.

to be honest... I have no clue what bulbs. I'll work on getting pics up in a couple of days. This tank has quickly become an obsession for me and my dog!!

Do you know what kind of lighting? PCs? T5s? Metal halide? If you post pics we'll be able to tell you what kind of lighting system you are running.

Without the tank having any corals I would say its the regular strip lighting. You can go the drsfosterandsmith.com or try your LFS for a bulb that will have a more blue color..

BTW welcome to the site.

Thats a light that can keep corals, but not sure what kind. Can you take a pic of it fliped over so I can see the bulbs? Then we can tell you what bulb can help and a link.