newb wondering what these are with photos...

monkiboy

Reefing newb
hi -

i'm a newb and wanted to know what these things were in my tank.

is this what they call "red slime"? is it harmful? it hasn't grown or spread in over a month and is easily removable - is that best?

DSC04475.jpg

what is this? it closes most of the days and as soon as i feed, it sprouts and opens attempting to catch whatever teeny particles it can. it's really cool to watch and i have no idea how it got there. does it grow on it's own or just came with some of my live rock?

DSC04471.jpg

why is some of my substrate or rubble turning a copper color? this is a first. all my levels are in check but i think in order to have the red slime i probably have high nitrates and lighting which i supposedly don't have.

DSC04476.jpg

lastly why do most on this forum only have a tiny bit of sand in their aquariums? i got a bag of crushed coral and rock from the LFS to add a bit of texture and a warmer feel to the tank, is this bad? i have all kinds of 1cm to 3cm creatures under the rocks in the sand creeping and crawling all over. normal?

thank you for all your guidance and help!

Wow, nice pics with these questions. Okay:
1) Cyano (red slime) adjust or add more flow into the effected area
2) Feather Duster, they are really cool
3) Unload that crushed coral, and get a nice aragonite sand. Also, you have what appears to be diatoms which is what is forming the "copper" color

thanks for the input! so powerheads which were already on the list are a definite!

in regards to the feather duster - was it likely just a worm that came on one of my rocks and until recently didn't decide to show it's crown?

in regards to the crushed coral and shells - i have about a one 1.5" bed, 1" of caribsea live sand that i purchased and then .5" of the shells/corals on top. what is your suggestion?