Newbie here - LOTS of Questions

Becki67

Reefing newb
Hello Everyone,

We just set up our tank over the weekend. The first thing we did was buy 40 lbs of Live Rock (ouch! Expensive!) We're getting more but we have to absorb that $300 cost. We let that sit for a few days and took a sample to the local fish store. He tested it and said it's good to go and encouraged us to buy "starter" fish. We bought two blue damsels and 2 clown fish.

Well it's been 5 days and I tested the water last night and the ammonia was at 2 and the nitrite was at 1. I'm freaking out. I tried to tell my Bfriend not to put the fish in yet and wait, but the doorknob at the store convinced him it would be okay. I've had conflicting advice today...one reputable tropical fish store said to change 25% of the water and another one said to leave it alone...it's natural and the fish are hardy enough to withstand it. Also, I tested right after I fed the fish....is there a certain time that's good to test the water?

We've orderd the Halide lights and in the meantime are using regular lights that came with the tank. We are running two powerheads and a fluval filter system. The protein skimmer is coming next, but it night be a week or two out.

Also, I haven't seen anything about the salinity in the tank. What is the optimal salinity range for a 75 gallon tank.

How bad did we screw up?

You LFS guy is an idiot.

The salinity should be about 1.022---1.026

You should take the clownfish back and let the tank pump for a full month with no animals in it. KILL the damsels. :mrgreen:

It needs to cycle. It takes time. Reefing is not a fast paced hobby. Slow and steady will reward you more in the long wrong. Take your time. When you think you're ready to stock it up to the max--have some more patience and wait some more. Less fish is better than more.

What you need RIGHT now is to take all those fish out and return them to the store.