Newbie here! With a skunk cleaner shrimp Q.

Pauly

Reefing newb
Hey all,
Paul here, I'm new to the site.... And fish keeping so bare with me and my probably silly questions. Anyway here goes, I got a small 90litre tank about a month ago, got the cleaner crew in which are, 1 cleaner shrimp, 3 blue legged hermits, 3 snails ( which I can't remember the type), sand sifter star, emerald crab. Then in the last week or so I put in 2 common clown fish and a toadstool.

Everyone has been getting on grand, but today I come home from work and notice 2 of the hermits start to fight ( I would image the smaller one started it as it wanted the larger ones shell ) anyway the smaller one comes out of his shell to continue his seige on the larger guy when out of nowhere the shrimp swoops in n eats him!! Is this normal? Or will I soon have a murderous shrimp on my hands? He's been a dote until now... Swims to the glass when anyones in the room n generally placid.

welcome to the site, and first thing first get rid of the sand star....and 2 you should go to the lfs and buy empty shells to avoid fights and as far as the cleaner shrimp. your good they are all peaceful just remember to feed him or what happened will probably happen again.

I've never heard of a cleaner shrimp going after a healthy crab. My guess is it was on its way out when the shrimp decided to make a snack of it.

As has already been stated, a sand sifting star will most likely starve in a system of your size, they need very large, established sand beds to survive long term in captivity

Welcome to the site!

Thanks for the reply guys!

I have 4 ( now 5 with the dead crab ) shells just lying around the tank, and he grabbed the smaller one who had come out of his shell.. I don't think the crab was sick as I seen them walk over to each other,

And I'm pretty sure it's a skunk, pale underside, red top with a white strip all along the back and 4 dots around the tail also?