newbie here

footballdude2k3

Reefing newb
hey everybody my names paul and im very new to the hobby, i do not have a set up right now, but hopefully very soon i will have a 12 gal nano, im reading as much as i can find and i want to read as much as possible and plan everything before i buy anything, right now im thinking about getting the nano with 2 clowns, and some coral, i know absolutely nothing about coral so i do not know what does well in a smaller tank. any help with anything that you guys think would help is greatly appreciated :)

your going to have to be way more specific if you want those kind of answers. otherwise this site is full of articles about set ups and stocking

Welcome to Living Reefs. There is a ton of information here and many helpful people. The key to saltwater reefing is PATIENCE! Two clowns are a good start, they are very hardy fish and seem to do well in not-so-perfect conditions.
Start off with your live sand & live rock.
Let it cycle in the tank (could take you several weeks).
Once your parameters have equalized (0 nitrites / 0 nitrates / 0 ammonia) you can add your small cleaner crew. Some snails and some crabs to help with algae. Your clowns can go in shortly after the inverts.
As far as corals, you may want to start with some easier zooanthids, mushrooms, polyps, etc. I have a couple LPS in the tank that are very forgiving. You may want to look at a torch coral, xenia, maybe a small brain. Just add slowly and keep an eye on your parameters.
Remember, the smaller the tank, the more you must watch it.

Good luck!