Newbie questions on rock and starting a 29g

Captain Ron

Reefing newb
I am new to reefing and am about to start a 29 gallon tank. (29 is the biggest we can fit into our apartment floorplan.)

I am planning to go FOWLR and maybe in 3-6 months add some coral fragments. For now I am thinking of starting with just rock and a HOB filter (an AquaClear 70), no sump, and a RODI unit for preparing the water. I have heard a skimmer isn't necessary but preferred with fowlr. Is this true? In the future I would like to add a few shrimp and eventually a few small fish without overloading my tank. I don't know what a good bioload for my 29g is yet.

For rock I have seen mentioned here reefrocks and marcorocks. Is one better than the other or are there additional recommendations? I am worried about introducing pests and bad things into the water, and a local LFS mentioned something about bloodworms or some other possible infestations on live rock. Is this an issue? Is it better to start with totally dead rock and wait a month (or two?) for the rock to become live? She also mentioned not using more than 1/2 inch of aragonite sand on the bottom to not have anaerobic stuff at the bottom which could poison the tank. Is this an issue? Basically, how should I start with rocks and sand?

Thank you for any guidance you can provide.

-Capt. Ron

Welcome to the site!

I, personally (with tons of patience and procrastiation) prefer dry rock, which turns into live rock within no time, anyway. That way, I can lower the risk of unwanted pests significantly.

But if you're in a rush, then by all means, go with live rock, but like you mentioned you run the risk of getting pests. But many here do it that way :)