Newbie to ALL types of fish keeping

StimulusPackage

Reefing newb
I am very new to all of this. I am starting with a 36 gallen bowfront. I am in the process of modifying the stand because it is not deep enough, so I am adding a 2x4 to the back. I am taking it VERY slow even on the setup part, which has actually saved me a couple of time (like an aquarium stand that is to narrow).

Equipment So Far:
-Aqueon 36 gallon Bowfront
-Eheim Pro3 G90 2073 canister filter
-(2) hydor 750 powerheads (I think I only going to use one of them)
-200 watt heater

Equipment still to purchase:
-Marineland Reef Capable LED with timer 24-36
-Digital Thermometer
-API saltwater master test kit
-Sallinity Refractometer
-Magnet scubber

Live Stock to get:
- 40-60 lb Live Rock
- 40-60 lb Live Sand

Then I wait.....

ANY SUGGESTS WOULD BE MUCH APPRECIATED

Welcome to the site!

I'd ditch the canister filter (do a search on here, and you'll see many people having problems with theirs -- they're nitrate factories). Those who use it successfully maintain them regularly, but IMO, it's just extra unnecessary work.

Get a good skimmer instead....it removes gunk from the water column before they have a chance to break down,.

Don't forget that using rodi or distilled water is usually best. Most of us bought an RODI filter to use at home so we don't have to run to the store for water. but some with small tanks just buy distilled from walmart. Those who used tap (like me when I first started) found that we ended up with lots of algae outbreaks and constantly high nitrates.

But sounds like you're off to a great start! Patience is the key!

+1 Wonton!

Welcome to the site and reef-keeping -- sounds like you are off to a great start, and taking it slow in this hobby will be a life saver!!

I think you will ultimately want both powerheads in order to get enough flow in the tank so that there aren't dead spots. Make sure one of two is directed at the top of the tank for good oxygenation.