Newbie to SW

CSCULTHO

Reefing newb
I am new to SW and this forum. I would appreciate it if somebody could explain to me in a "nut shell" what to expect during the cycling process? I just got my tank up and running within the past 3 days and I dont want any surprises. As of today I have brown algae growing on my live rock and want to know if this is ok? My setup is:

125gal
auqualight pro
supper skimmer
live sand
50lbs of live rock
refugium w/live mud
& 3 schooling fish to assist the cycling process.

Thanks for your help. :bowdown:

Last edited:
Read Helpful Articles

If you visit the helpful articles and read the 1st page of threads, then the ones identified for water parameters, cycling etc. you will get a pretty good idea of the process that will occur, how to deal with the brown algae, what causes it, and where to go from here. welcome to the forum. after you spend some time reading the articles come back to your thread here and post any questions you may still have. nice size system. you will have some fun with that one. happy fishin

jhnrb said:
If you visit the helpful articles and read the 1st page of threads, then the ones identified for water parameters, cycling etc. you will get a pretty good idea of the process that will occur, how to deal with the brown algae, what causes it, and where to go from here. welcome to the forum. after you spend some time reading the articles come back to your thread here and post any questions you may still have. nice size system. you will have some fun with that one. happy fishin
Besides the topic of insterest JHNRB has provided us with alot of great info in the articles section.Time permitting you should reead all that is there to help you along with your new hobbie