Newbie with some questions

thefreeviper

Im new and still learning
Well like the title says im a noob. So ill start with explaining what i got and where and then proceed with a few questions i have. So i have a 55 gallon, it has a refugium ( i hope i spelled that right) and a protein skimmer, a T5 light system on it, and 2 of the fan flow things. ( sorry still trying to learn parts and names of everything.) i purchased it from a guy off Craigslist, gotta love that sight. he had it set for reef and raised corral to sell. it came with no live rock, but the sand was still in there in great shape (ive had alot of freshwater tanks). i got all this 2 days ago. on the way home i picked up 40 lbs of base rock, and 5 lbs of live rock. the guy at the aquatics store told me this would be best budget wise ( if i mention any advice it is from him, or ill state its from a website.) also got salt, hydrometer, test kits, and a few odds and ends. and then 3 damsels ( ill get to that in a min.) i have been researching for a while how to set up a tank so it was time to set up. i got everything put on it, sand cleaned up (rinsed) and then made the saltwater, put the rock in, and then put the water in. and then the fish. everything seems to be running fine. all the lvls are looking good. i know there going to spike but for now they look good. if i didnt know better i would think it was ready for fish. thats how good the lvls are. i also added a photo to this from the day one. so still kinda cloudy. its almost completly gone now lol.