itsmejuli

Reefing newb
Hello everyone! I'm so glad I found this site.

I'm new to saltwater aquariums. I've wanted a reef tank for quite awhile but couldn't afford a new set-up. Yesterday I got a great deal on a 30 gallon saltwater set-up. It came with everything, but I've no clue how to set it all up.

The tank was a mess when I went to the person's house to get it. He'd been neglecting it for quite some time and there was maybe 10 gallons of water in it and one sad looking clownfish. I don't know how that little guy survived. I took him to the shop where I'll be buying my fish and got a store credit.

The tank was disgusting as was the cabinet, pumps and protein skimmer. I got all of it cleaned up, took apart the pumps and cleaned the impellers. So now I'm ready to start setting it up.

I've a few years experience with freshwater, I have a cichlid tank so I know that its going to take weeks of cycling and patience to get this saltwater tank going. I want to do it right the first time.

I'll probably be posting some pictures what I have in parts so I can know what to do with it. Like the protein skimmer, I've no idea what type it is or how it works or how to put it together. All I know is that it hangs on the back of the tank.

Welcome to the site and the hobby juli.Were happy to have you as a member.
Go a head and post the pics ( there actually required as payment for advice:mrgreen: ) and we'll see if we cant get you headed in the right direction.

Hi and welcome! Sounds like you have a good start. Did it come with any rock or sand? If not, you'll have to buy rock as soon as you can (you'll need 1 to 2 lbs per gallon, so 30 to 60 lbs). You can either buy it all live, or save some money and buy part live, part dry. The live rock will seed the dead rock over time. Live rock will serve as your main source of biological filtration.

Thanks!

The tank did come with a lot of rock, it was disgustingly covered in algae and assorted other nasties.