Newly obsessed :)

jr7168

Artic Reefer!
Hello fellow fish enthusiast. I have been scouring your sight for information as i am new to the saltwater world. I am reading, heeding, and taking advise from every direction. I will tell you what my intentions are: 1) Love hobbies and very interested in the challenge of building a habitat :) 2) building a tank for myself and my 2 lil ones. they love love love fish! I hope to gain alot of knowledge and meet some nice people on here! Here is what i got to get started

I have 3g round freshwater with a yellow molly, 2 hybrid gf (green/pink)

10g salt water tank (was initial build but i'm taking everyones advise)

29g salt water tank ( gonna build me a live painting :) )
For my 29g:
accessories:
Marine Land Bio-wheel Penguin 100
Tetra 10-30i Power filter
Tetra 50w submersible heater
Carib-sea Arag-alive reef live sand 40 lbs
8lb live rock; 10lb primo rock
Oceanic Sea Salt mix
Aqua Culture 20-60g dual chamber air pump with 10" wand & stone
Coralife T-5 30" light
Instant Ocean hydrometer
API stress coat

I hope i got a good start. and dang its more expensive then i anticipated but i do it right or not at all.

Welcome to the site. New new to really give advice about the salt tanks, but it seems like the 3 gallon freshwater is over stocked.

I also know people will tell you ditch the biowhell filter.

Anyhow welcome and enjoy the site, lots of helpful people here.

in my fresh water all fish are under 1" but its just colorful stuff for the kiddo's. i read that too about the biowheel. Do you just let the water push over without the wheel?

i would probably ditch the hang on back power filters all together as they are not too greatly suited for saltwater.
i here they are nitrate factories and will give u alot of problems in the long run.
u can build a diy sump setup for super cheap. probably less than what u would get if u sold ur penguin on cl.
just my 2cents.
also...do u have the air stone blowing bubbles INSIDE your aquarium?