Newwww

BlueSi4

Reefing newb
Hey everyone!

Well this is my first time having a saltwater aquarium, and so far, i'm not as lost as i thought i would be. I have everything up and running, had the tank for a couple days already, and i just have a little problem besides the typical high levels of ammonia. The water in my tank is at a constant 85-86F, and i have no idea why. The heater is set to 78F, and when i put the water in the tank, i don't think it was that warm. What is wrong? or how can i lower the temperature of the water?

Your water parameters are gunna change a lot over the next 2-4 weeks. First your ammonia will be high, then your nitrites, and finally your nitrates will spike and your tank will be covered in algae. Its called cycling. As for the temp issue heres a very helpful post from the coolest guy on this site
https://www.livingreefs.com/forums/newbies-reefing/3301-sky-rocketing-tank-temperatures.html
And BTW welcome to the site..... You will find everyone here is pretty helpful. It sounds kinda corny but theres no stupid questions here..... learn from our expensive mistakes.

haha, thanks!
i stumbled across that post and i put a fan in front of the tank and it seems to work, so far it has dropped about a degree, which is not bad. around what temperature should the tank be at?
so for these couple of weeks, what should i be doing with the tank? when do i add fresh water? do i premix if first or do i just put tap water and then add the conditioner and then the salt?
any advice is welcome...i read a couple of books but i'm still not sure on what to do and stuff