Nitrate problem

Ryan1221

Reefing newb
I have fluval Osaka 260L. Fluval 406 canister filter, 2 t5 HO light fixture, 70lbs of live rock, and 80lbsof live sand. I run the lights for 8 hours a day.

Livestock includes:
2 true perculas
1 lawnmower blenny
4 electric blue hermit crabs
4 turbos snails
4 Cerith snails
6 scarlet reef hermit crabs

I feed once a day with New Life Spectrum Thera A sinking pellets.

My parameters are:
8.2 PH
0 Ammonia
0 Nitrite
40 Nitrate

How do you I get my nitrates down? I replaced the carbon that the filter came with Chemi Pure Elite.

Need suggestions on what to do as I am new to the hobby.

Help would be greatly appreciated.

Canisters are known to cause high nitrates in saltwater. If you don't clean them regularly, they will trap food and poop which break down into nitrates. People who've used them successfully clean them regularly. But frankly, they're useless in saltwater because the rock and sand are all the biological filter you need.

I say ditch it. You would have to do it gradually -- removing small portions of the media at a time otherwise you risk a mini-cycle.

Also, add frozen mysis to the food mix. the Pellets are fine. My fish love those. But they'd do better with frozen foods. I give pellets as a treat ;)

like wonton said canisters are not very good for anything other than running carbon or something like chempure. but they need to be cleaned offten. if you are sticking with fish only than 40 is not a bad level. but could be lower the best way to lower it is regular water changes.

I use frozen mysis shrimp every other day. Would a skimmer help?

Skimmer won't lower your nitrates. But what it does do is take out the food and poop from the water column before they have a chance to break down into nitrates.

Oh yeah, +1 james....keep the canister around for running carbon :)