Nitrate too high - How to fix?

Davo

Reefing newb
Hi all,
I am a newbie to reef aquariums and have tested my aquarium and PH, Nitrite and Ammonium are ok. Nitrate is off the scale, however. I have done a couple of 30% water changes and it has come down a little. I am not over feeding as I hand feed and take out any uneaten food. I have a little bit of algae on the back panel but it is not growing or out of control. I have ordered some nitrate test strips as i think the test kit may be giving an incorrect reading but it still suggests that there is too much nitrate I have about 15kg of living rock in a 95 litre tank. The filter system has plenty of noodles and EHFI Substrat sintered glass. As it is only a new tank I only have one minstrel pufferfish, one Lionfish and one stone fish. I also have one hard red coral with a symbiotic red crab which lives inside it.

:question: How can you reduce Nitrate apart from partial water changes?

To directly answer your question.

A bigger/good skimmer is the easiest way, remove the waste before it goes through the ammonia/nitrite/nitrate cycle.

Another thing to keep in mind is the fish you have picked out. Lion/Puffer etc.
These fish are messy eaters and :pooh: alot.

Everyone has their opinion, but if you are really wanting to have a reef you might want to reconsider the fish you have chosen. Generally speaking triggers/lions/puffers and corals don't do well together.

I would recommend figuring out if you want a reef or Fish Only with Live Rock making this choice now will probably save you tons of frustration down the road.

Welcome to the forums and keep us updated.

lions/puffers/trigger fish in a 25 gallon tank is most likely the root problem depending on the size and if it isn't now will be when they grow. If you really like those type fish i would recommend getting a tank around 75 gallons.

Just my :twocents: and keep us updated as to your progress.

Brandon