No ro to do a water change

Annie

Reefing newb
Hi all. I am a complete newbie to the saltwater aquarium hobby. I had to rush home to a sick family member the other day and have come back to a lump of rotting pellet food and some serious brown and green detritus everywhere. I am not able to get to my LFS to get some ro and was wondering if filtered tap water to remove chlorine etc will work as a temporary measure. I haven't yet tested the nitrates etc yet. There is also evidence that the hermits have shed their exoskeleton, possibly due to the water quality. How much of a change should I do and how often?

Hope someone can shed some light onto this as I am keen to make my aquarium a happy little place for all of my stock. Thanks in advance

Can you get to your local grocer, walmart, etc to get some jugs of distilled water? Filtered tap water from your sink tends to have too much junk in it and may do more harm than good.

Out of curiosity, where did the lump of pellet food come from?
Also, your tank can go for several days without being fed if it needs to. Just for future reference.

Hi I am sure I can source some distilled water from somewhere. Failing that I can make my own by boiling and cooling lots of water though buying it will be lots easier!

The pellet food came from my neighbour not listening to my instructions of one tiny pellet a day and small amount of live plankton. i quickly scooped out the lump of food! I usually feed a tiny bit of frozen brineshrimp in the evening when the night light is on along with a little bit of live plankton.

Hi I am sure I can source some distilled water from somewhere. Failing that I can make my own by boiling and cooling lots of water though buying it will be lots easier!