Noobie

SJojo3377

Reefing newb
Hey everyone!
So my husband and I are complete noobie's to the saltwater aquarium hobby. We are very excited about it. But of course we are researching stuff before we get 1 thing. We definitely want to buy a hospital/quarantine aquarium first. We actually saw a really good deal at PetSmart. I'm going to list everything it had on the box and I was wondering if you guys could tell me if this is a good, smart deal and if we should buy it as our 1st step towards our actual saltwater aquarium. :question:

This is a 10 gallon aquarium made by Marineland. All for $69.99

• Penguin 100 BioWheel power filter provides superior biological filtration to 100 gal. of water per hour for clean, clear aquarium water
  • LED lighting system produces shimmering light to mimic the underwater effect of sunlight
  • Submersible aquarium heater maintains water temperatures crucial to tropical fish
  • Thermometer adheres to the outside of the tank for easy reading
  • Power: Low-voltage AC adapter
  • Includes a Rite-Size™ A filter cartridge, TetraMin® Tropical Flake Food Sample, AquaSafe® Water Conditioner Sample and an aquarium set-up guide (of course won't be using a lot of this stuff)
  • Warranty: 1 year aquarium, hood and light; 3 years filter
Thx guys!

Hello and Welcome!

I would just buy a 10 gal tank, a heater, a small powerhead and get a few pieces of large PVC piping for them to hide in for your QT tank. That is all you need in a QT tank and the simpler the better IMO

Most of that stuff the tank comes with is more suitable for a freshwater tank and wont be much help in a saltwater tank.

Be sure to check out the articles section, there is lots of good info in there

+1 everyone...the biowheel, especially, is really useless in a saltwater tank unless you really keep up with the maintenance with it...it will be more trouble than its worth later on down the line.