Nuisance fuge Algae

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by PufferGuy, Dec 7, 2009.

  1. PufferGuy

    PufferGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    South Dakota
    So my fuge always gets covered by a layer of cyano im assuming... purple blanket of crap... and this happens every week or so. I always take the macro i have in there and turn it around so the cyano doesnt block all the light from the good macro, but im thinking this shouldnt happen....... isnt that why i HAVE a fuge? to take nitrates and phosphates out of the water and prevent algae from growing?

    Anything i can do about it??
     
    PufferGuy, Dec 7, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. PufferGuy

    Rcpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,976
    Likes Received:
    410
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    Increase flow.
     
    Rcpilot, Dec 7, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. PufferGuy

    PufferGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    South Dakota
    ive thought about that but i dont really know how to increase flow in there without a powerhead, and the fuge section is like a 2-3 gallon section so a powerhead seems like overkill.. also, i think algae would get sucked into the powerhead and clog it
     
    PufferGuy, Dec 7, 2009
    #3
  4. PufferGuy

    Melosu58

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,211
    Likes Received:
    197
    Location:
    Richmond, Virginia
    Melosu58, Dec 7, 2009
    #4
  5. PufferGuy

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    You could drop a little Koralia nano in there to help move some water.
     
    yote, Dec 8, 2009
    #5
  6. PufferGuy

    Rcpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,976
    Likes Received:
    410
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    Can you skim the red slime algae out if you can knock it loose from the sides of the glass and from the sand?

    If you can get the pump to suck it up, will it skim out?
     
    Rcpilot, Dec 9, 2009
    #6
  7. PufferGuy

    parrotchute DUSTOFF MEDEVAC

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,668
    Likes Received:
    241
    Location:
    Ware, MA
    my HOB likes to grow cyano. The same conditions that make it ripe for macro make it good for cyano. I put a little power head in to keep the water moving, and no more cyano.
     
    parrotchute, Dec 9, 2009
    #7
  8. PufferGuy

    PufferGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    South Dakota
    how do you keep the macro from sucking into the power head???

    and no it cant skim out because the fuge is the second "chamber", the first being the skimmer, so if i break it loose and not scoop it out, it will just get into my DT.
     
    PufferGuy, Dec 9, 2009
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.